The Wotton-under-Edge Coat of Arms Wotton-under-Edge Town Website
The Official Website of the Wotton-under-Edge Town Council

                                                            October 9, 2015
Son et Lumiere at St Marys Church. Photo: Tony Parry

Coming Events
-Oct 9: Nia Dance Fitness Town Hall 10am
-Oct 9: Ukulele club (Adults) KVHall 3pm - 4pm
-Oct 9: Gentle Nia KVHall 2pm - 2.30pm
-Oct 10: Painting and Mosaic exhibition
-Oct 10: Electric Picture House Cinema - Saturday Morning Cinema 10:30
-Oct 10: 1940's night celebration party
-Oct 14: Precise Pilates
-Oct 14: Nia Dance Fitness UTEA 7.30pm 5.00 Drop in
-Oct 15: Precise Pilates
-Oct 15: Nia Dance Fitness UTEA 10am
\   /

St Marys Church. Photo: George Way

Committee Structure

The Town Council meets in full session monthly, on the third Monday of each month, including August. All Council meetings are open to the public and the Town Council meeting begins with a Public Forum where members of the public may raise matters of concern which will be noted. They may not be dealt with there and then, however, as all matters for decision must already be on the agenda for the meeting but will be noted for further consideration or action.

The Town Council also has various Standing Committees to cover various aspects of the Council's work. Please note that the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council are members of every committee and working party, ex-officio and will not be listed below as members.

The Planning Committee meets on the last Monday of each month and all Councillors are members of this. The Chairman is Councillor Chris Galbraith and the Vice-Chairman is the Mayor. This committee is clerked by the Town Clerk.

It considers all planning applications which have been received from Stroud District Council up to and including the day of the meeting, as there is usually only a period of three weeks allowed for responses. The comments made by this Council are then sent to Stroud District Council but it should be noted that these are recommendations only and that the decision is made by the District Council who may and do ignore our views if they so decide. If you have a strong view on an application, therefore, by all means copy the Town Council in to your representations but be sure to make your objection directly to the District Council.

NB: There have been recent changes to planning legislation under which the Government have relaxed rules on what requires planning permission. These come into effect on 30th May 2013 and details of how this is likely to affect the Town Council role are still emerging. Please watch this space!

Please note that paper copies of Planning Applications and Decision Notices are no longer sent out by Stroud District Council so that electronic copies only are available, viewable by the public on the Stroud District Council website. If you do not have computer access at home, there are computers for public use at the Library and, by arrangement, in the Town Council One Stop Shop.

The Allotments Committee deals with the two sets of allotments operated by the Council. It does not have regular meeting dates but meets about four times a year. Please enquire in the One Stop Shop for meeting dates.

This committee, in addition to elected Councillors, also has co-opted members including representatives of the allotment holders on both sites. The Chairman of the Committee is: Mrs Clair Galbraith

This committee is clerked by Mrs Diana Pawlowski who manages the allotments as part of her duties.

Members: Mrs C Galbraith, Mr T Luker, Mr P Barton plus co-opted members Mr B Elloway, Mr I Jones, Mr M Kingscote and Mr C Mitchell.


The Footpath and Amenities Committee also meets irregularly but roughly four times a year. This deals with issues concerning footpaths and amenity areas such as the Marchesi Streamside Walk, Holywell land and Conygre Wood which is owned and managed by the Town Council. The Committee is clerked by Mrs Yasmin Milsom. It also co-opts several members who have a particular interest in footpath issues. The Chairman of the Committee is: Mr Chris Galbraith.

Members: Dr J Cordwell, Mrs Clair Galbraith, Mr T Luker, Mr P Smith. Plus co-opted members Mrs J Deveney, Mr S Jarmuz, Mr B Rodman and Mrs E Warren.


The Special Purposes Committee comprises some of the more experienced Councillors who consider particular issues arising  and report to Town Council. This committee meets on a need basis to address issues arising. This is clerked by the Town Clerk.

Members: Mrs J Cordwell, Dr J Cordwell, Mr P Smith, plus Chairman and Vice-Chairman.


The Finance Committee meets on an irregular basis to consider financial and audit matters and reports with recommendations to Town Council.  This is clerked by the Town Clerk with assistance from Mrs Yasmin Milsom on accounting issues.

Members: Mrs J Cordwell, Dr J Cordwell, Mr P Smith,  plus Chairman and Vice-Chairman.

The Holywell Working Party as now been disbanded and management of the site is under the Footpaths and Amenities Committee.




Local Government Database Website Design BristolLocal Government Database Website Design Bristol Home | Contact Us | Map of the Town | How to Find Us | The Town Guide | Calendar & Diary | Links, Links, Links! | Weather Report

Copyright © Wotton-under-Edge Town Council.

All photos and maps are the copyright of the Wotton-under-Edge Town Council, except where otherwise stated, and may not be reproduced without permission. Please read our Terms and Conditions.
Have you visited our community site yet?
Wotton-under-Edge Community Site